The College Years (Part Deux) Deux/Morning Glory Egg White Oats

Continued from The College Years (Part Deux)…

…again it was time to devise a plan. I had to leave my full time design job behind and look for something more flexible. On a side note, this was when the housing market really started to take a nosedive and remodeling was the last thing on any homeowners mind. If I had to pick a good time to leave, this was it. I searched constantly for a more flexible job…and came to the conclusion that the answer was retail.

Yes Retail! My torture of choice. Where else was I going to find the flexibility I needed?  This would become a period in time where I would acquire quite the most unique plethora of jobs.  Previously I had one job in high school that also carried into most of most of my first college experience, and then my full time design job. That was it. In a period of about 3 years, I went from clothing retail, to food service, back to retail (this time selling the great outdoors!), and then eventually met my goal to get my foot in the door at a local hospital (two actually!). It was probably one of the most interesting experiences of my life thus far.

You see, its a big deal to find work/volunteer experience in dietetics for your Dietetic Internship application, preferably in food, nutrition, or fitness focused. As you can see here that’s not always an option, and luckily some Internship Directors understand that. While some of my jobs had absolutely nothing to do with dietetics I still managed to learn a lot, especially from the people I worked with.

I met many different people with many different life situations. Not everyone graduates high school and goes to college and lands a successful 9-5 job.  I realize that’s stating the obvious,  but what was most interesting about the jobs I had was learning the different perspectives on life in regards to priorities, leisure activities, and the general lifestyles of my fellow employees.  For most of my life it has been second nature to head to the gym after work/school…and for some people its not even close to being on their radar. And that’s just one example.  These experiences prepared me for becoming a Dietitian in ways I didn’t even know were possible. While it was tough going through it at the time, I’m glad it happened the way it did. I feel like I am a better Dietitian because of it.  To all those who are currently on the dietetic journey: remember you can make every experience count!!

Now that I’ve completely gone off topic about my college experience by talking wayyy to much about my work experience, I think I will continue off topic by introducing my breakfast for this week: Morning Glory Egg White Oats!

Yes that muffin I love so dearly has now morphed its way into a hot breakfast and I wanted to share it with you.

MGM Baggies

I spent part of my Sunday Prep on breakfast by creating baggies full of zucchini, carrots, apples, raisins, and walnuts so it would be easier during the week. I started with 1/3 cup of Oats and cooked them in the microwave for 1 minute.

Prebake

Then I added my pre-prepped baggie, 1/3 cup of egg whites, vanilla extract, and enough cinnamon for ten people (I heart cinnamon). I  stirred it all together and microwaved again for about 2 1/2 minutes.

Finished

Above is the final microwaved product. Its really hard to take a picture of something that is steaming hot FYI. I promise to work on it.

Post-microwave, I added some Chia seeds, Stevia Drops, and stirred again. I don’t know about your microwave, but at this point it was REALLY hot, so don’t burn your tongue because you are as excited as I am to eat this delicious breakfast!

Morning Glory Egg White Oats

1/3 Cup Old Fashioned Oats
2/3 Cup Water
1/3 Cup Egg Whites
1/3 Cup of shredded zucchini
1/3 Cup mixture of shredded Carrots and apple chunks
1 TBSP Raisins (If you can find baking raisins, they are awesome!)
1/2-1 TBSP Chopped Walnuts
To Taste: Cinnamon
1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
To Taste: Stevia Drops

Optional: Chia Seeds etc.

Directions

1) Mix oats and water together, microwave for 1 minute

2) Stir in egg whites, mixture of fruits/veggies/walnuts, vanilla extract and cinnamon. Microwave for another 2-3 minutes

3) Add in Stevia or other preferred sweetener, chia seeds, or whatever your heart desires

4) Let cool- and enjoy!

Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

