The College Years (Part Deux)

So I decided to go back to school for dietetics. This wasn’t going to be easy, as there was no way I was going to be able to leave my full-time position. Why?  In the space between my decision to go back to school and actually going back to school, I had…

gotten married…

{ Est. 2007 }

{ Est. 2007 }

built a house…

{ Home Sweet Home }

{ Home Sweet Home }

…and while we lived with my parents to completely pay for our wedding upfront (yeah were awesome!), we still had a lot on our plates like student loans, credit card debt, and the “burden” of outfitting our brand new house. It just wasn’t going to be feasible to stop what I was doing and change directions. I was going to need a really good plan to pull this off but luckily I was motivated and up for the challenge.

I explored a variety of options and just like my initial search for a new career, I came up with a few dead ends. It was frustrating. Many places require you to go during the day for your entire degree and some tuition rates were just outrageous! I also began to wonder what my hubby thought about all this career change business. Quite honestly I was afraid to find out!

“Hi, OK, so now that we’re married, I am gonna go ahead and quit my job and find another career path!”

I just felt like one of those brides who turned the switch after he put a ring on it. Who wouldn’t be scared?!

One day I came home completely defeated. I had no idea how I was going to make this work and I was ready to throw in the towel (there’s that twenty-something drama!). That’s when my wonderful husband looked at me and said “I have never seen you give in so early in the game, keep going and we will find a way to make it work” (Yeah, he’s a dream y’all). That’s when I knew that A) I could make it happen and B) He was going to support my decision. I kept moving.

I finally found my opportunity at a local community college: Cincinnati State.  They offered evening courses at a severely discounted rate compared to most universities in the area, and everything would transfer smoothly when I needed to move on to my core classes at the University of Cincinnati. In enrolled and started at the very bottom of the science curriculum: Biology 101.

Most people would loathe the fact that they had to start at the bottom in a crummy community college but you know what? I. Loved. It. I don’t know why community colleges get such a bad wrap, Cincinnati State was AWESOME! I don’t know if it was my excitement and willingness to learn, but I really enjoyed my experience there. It was totally different from my first go at college. Each course was challenging and enjoyable and I felt like I got something out of each course that I would actually apply! The professors were also encouraging and mostly inspiring as well.  I knew I was heading in the right direction.

So that’s how I managed my introductory classes: I worked full time as an interior designer during the day, and became a dietetics student at night. I did my homework in my car on my lunch break and read my books on the elliptical at the gym and somehow fit it all in. I was determined and on my way!

The next challenge came when I was ready for daytime classes…

So I think everyone would agree that its time I start mixing it up a bit between my “story” and some good eats…and some design! That beautiful house you see above has recently been sold, were moving closer to the city, and there is plenty shopping to be had!!

Stay Tuned!

Leave a Reply

