Intermission…

I’m loving sharing my story but let’s face it: It’s time to see some food!

Since I have graduated from my Dietetic Internship, I have been baking up a STORM at my house. Between my internship with associated homework/presentations, my part-time job, and attempting to see friends and family on a regular basis, all I really had the energy and time for was making my lunches for the week! (OK, I still don’t have time, but I feel a little relief now that the RD Exam is in my dust path),

Most recently, I have been on a muffin crusade:

Whole Wheat Apple Muffins

Whole Wheat Apple Muffins

Pumpkin Pie Muffins from Life Love Lemons

Pumpkin Pie Muffins from Life Love Lemons

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread (muffin-ish right?)

This past weekend I revamped the Morning Glory Muffin (insert heavenly harp sound):

Morning Glory

We have an awesome local coffee shop; Coffee Emporium, that makes AMAZING Morning Glory Muffins. I don’t usually go gaga over store-bought baked goods but WOW, I am in love.

What’s so great about Coffee Emporium Morning Glory Muffins? Google it! People talk, but no replications have been produced thus far. I have tried many recipes but have yet to find the magical combination, but I am getting close! Eating Well has a 1994 version of the Morning Glory Muffin here. But I took it one step further to meet my Coffee Emporium cravings here:

Morning Glory Muffins!

Ingredients

1 cup whole-wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar / sugar substitute
1 1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup grated carrots, (2 medium)
1 cup grated zucchini (1 medium)
1 apple, peeled and finely chopped
1/2 cup raisins
1 large egg
2 large egg whites
1/2 cup applesauce
1/4 cup canola oil
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons finely chopped walnuts
2 tablespoons toasted coconut

Directions

Preheat oven to 375°F. Coat 18 muffin cups with cooking spray. (I made probably around 20 muffins)
Whisk whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Stir in carrots, zucchini, apple, and raisins. Whisk egg, egg whites, applesauce, oil and vanilla in a medium bowl.
Make a well in the dry ingredients and stir in the wet ingredients with a rubber spatula until just combined. Add in walnuts and toasted coconut. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin cups, filling them about three-fourths full.
Bake the muffins until the tops are golden brown and spring back when touched lightly, 15 to 20 minutes. Let cool in the pans for 5 minutes. Loosen edges and turn muffins out onto a wire rack to cool.

These make a great treat for breakfast, lunch, coffee break, or after dinner snack. Just look at them!!

Beautiful.

Beautiful.

I am currently looking for the next muffin recipe to attempt (or I may just whip up another batch of these!) Tell me: What are some of your favorite muffin recipes?

Leave a Reply

